开发架构视图

高效的企业架构师使用架构视图来展示与利益相关者的匹配度。

利益相关者看到 企业架构 在架构视图中表达。每个视图都根据关注点解释架构。看到架构视图中表达的架构允许利益相关者权衡竞争需求。

务实地说,关注点只是利益相关者评估企业架构的主题领域。不同的利益相关者会有不同的偏好和优先事项。我们发现,开发一个突出强制性利益相关者和关注点的简单矩阵构成了 可预测的企业架构.不同的企业架构目的将有略微不同的必要利益相关者和关注点。

优秀的架构师将键入强制性条款和 EA 目的。他们知道不同的 EA 目的解决不同的问题并以不同的方式使用最终的决策。使用良好的企业架构来指导每一次变革努力以使组织更接近首选目标的组织需要一致的权衡比较。强制性利益相关者和关注点直接促成了艰难的权衡。

高效的 EA 团队是可以预测的。他们知道需要回答的关键问题、所需的信息,并重复使用以前的分析和决策。他们提供。视点库是基础。构建视点库的方法很简单。不容易,简单明了。

视点库的基础是构成权衡基础的关注点。考虑一下经典的成本与敏捷性权衡,或另一种陈旧的栗子,即上市时间与可持续性。一组关键的权衡决策提供了强制性的关注点。在实践中,优秀的架构师会找到一个提供上市时间和可持续性的目标。当优秀的架构师可以将权衡讨论缩小到对竞争偏好进行真正权衡的地方时,对所有事情进行权衡是没有意义的。

我们提供 定制企业架构培训 用于开发架构视图和观点。

开发视点库为交付价值提供了一条可重复的、快速的途径。确定您需要了解的内容,以按照正常标准解释目标。

架构视图在企业架构治理中具有重要作用。尽管如此,许多人认为架构视图是一种官僚开销并避免使用它们。

领袖指南 第 8 章讨论了确定利益相关者通常使用的标准。然后优化您的方法以使用这些标准。

避免人为权衡和解决真正的权衡需要在关注点中捕获利益相关者的偏好。对于每个利益相关者的关注,架构师都需要获得利益相关者的偏好。偏好可以针对优先级、最低要求进行陈述,也可以通过先前的分析和权衡得出。

习惯于在做出关键决策后进行架构的企业架构师通常会寻找需求,而不是偏好。在没有高级架构要求的情况下,直到一组利益相关者进行权衡之后才能获得。需求限制了架构师和利益相关者的自由度。他们锁定了部分可能的答案,并迫使建筑师和利益相关者围绕不可移动的物体工作。更糟糕的是,大多数需求只是被严重考虑的权衡决策。

您可以在 TOGAF 知识体系.

个人 EA 启动 花几个会议探索与利益相关者、关注点和架构视图的沟通。

为期 12 周的成为更好建筑师的计划是免费的。

利益相关者问题深入架构视图

术语定义使识别利益相关者变得不必要地复杂化。正式定义必须足够广泛,以包含大量边缘情况。在模糊定义以包括所有合理想象的利益相关者之后,该定义无法集中我们的注意力。 ISO 420101 的指南和 TOGAF 9.1 的利益相关者管理技术很有用。最佳实践是将术语利益相关者的使用限制为那些“关注被认为是架构的基础”或“有权力”的人。

一旦 EA 团队缩小了一组强制性利益相关者和关注点,就可以开发一个观点库。我们知道必须为谁服务,以及受试者习惯于进行权衡。我们知道需要准备哪些架构视图。

我们已准备好填写视点库模板。

使用 Viewpoint 库加快开发速度

关注点是什么?利益相关者将使用什么标准来评估目标架构? 谁是利益相关者? 企业架构师需要知道什么来根据关注点描述目标架构? 视图将如何构建?
变更影响——架构变更的影响或范围是什么? 高级领导 改变现有计划(工作、成果和价值)。预算变更 组织变更。操作的变化。客户参与度的变化。基础设施变更(设施、工厂和 IT) 桌子工作得很好。如果没有差距,您将永远无法识别变更影响。

导航 我们有一组入门视点库。其中包括解决常规问题所需的标准关注点、利益相关者和导航元模型实体。我们大力投资于我们的视点库和视图构建技术。我们无情地最小化 EA 存储库的信息需求。我们将 EA 团队的重点放在所需的价值上。 (我们还与出色的视觉表示作斗争:ABACUS 的 3D 气泡/关系图仅在比较多个可能的路线图时才走这么远)

如果没有视点库,我们就会无止境地困住企业架构师。他们不是处理主要利益相关者的关注点和相关的权衡决策,而是处理随机问题。低功能 企业架构师 伪装成利益相关者,假装面对无数对结果感兴趣的个人、团队或组织。

当这种情况发生时,我们妥协 企业架构治理.你永远不会通过断言来越过架构的陷阱。

开发视点库的最后一个阶段是“视图构建”和“所需信息”。

架构视图不是简化模型

大多数建模工具和讨论都混淆了架构视图和模型。视图处理有关涉众和关注的架构。模型简化了现实世界,向我们展示了组件是如何组合在一起的——这种描述如此接近于架构是什么,我们不妨接受架构就是模型。很少有强制性关注点具有可以使用单一模型或分析技术构建的观点。

使用视点库节省时间

信息需求极低的 EA 团队能够将时间和精力清晰地集中在预期价值和真正的利益相关者上。如果对强制性利益相关者和关注点不明确,他们会花时间追逐分心,就像杰克罗素梗一样。在一个完美的世界中,EA 存储库和内容元模型是紧密结合的。离散信息需要引用单独的目录和矩阵,或需要在 EA 存储库中开发的模型。

此阶段需要与您的 EA 领导者和 EA 存储库专家密切合作。考虑您的 EA 团队必须回答的问题,您需要哪些信息来解决强制性问题。您将使用什么架构视图?

挑战一切。无情地最小化分析负载。如果每个所谓的权衡决策都选择了上市时间而不是可持续性,那么企业架构师就需要进行架构设计。听取利益相关者的意见并制定一个能够加快上市时间的目标。摆脱“更好地了解”的陷阱。提供分析以支持真正的权衡。

我们再怎么强调这个阶段的迭代性质都不为过。太多的团队沉浸在任何 EA 目的都不需要的细节中,更不用说当前的 EA 目的了。有趣的事实和细节分散了支持决策制定和促进利益相关者直接和控制变革的最终目标的注意力。

高效地开发架构视图。开发您的视点库。查看您在架构上重要的利益相关者,以及他们的关注点。当您的分析和报告关注主要利益相关者的关注时,您关注的是价值。您将根据组织的偏好和优先级调整您的架构。如果你从一个低功能的地方开始,你可能认不出自己。但是,您将遵循一条可重复的、快速的途径来交付价值。

一个经典的 EA 陷阱认为你有一个 架构和架构视图,因为您有系统图.

视图用于所有域。 安全架构师 将创建与安全和风险问题相关的架构视图。

领袖指南从业者指南 提供一组核心利益相关者和关注点的样本 支持投资组合的架构.

康耐盛的 EA能力实践最持久的研究领域是架构视图构建。我们也称之为可视化。

导航 以量化为导向。我们的目标是支持权衡和迭代决策。

在每一个 可预测的 EA 冲刺 分配时间来改进 EA 团队的工具包。大部分时间用于架构视点库和信息分析。无情的最小化需要时间和练习。

加入企业架构 Kickstart

成为更好的企业架构师的 12 周免费计划

滚动到顶部

Developing an Architecture View

High-functioning enterprise architects use an architecture view to show fitness with stakeholders.

Stakeholders see the enterprise architecture expressed in architecture views. Each view explains the architecture in terms of a concern. Seeing the architecture expressed in architecture views allows stakeholders to trade-off against competing needs.

Pragmatically, concerns are simply subject areas for stakeholders to assess the enterprise architecture. Different stakeholders will have different preferences and priorities. We find that developing a simple matrix highlighting the mandatory stakeholders and concerns form the foundation of a predictable enterprise architecture. Different enterprise architecture purposes will have slightly different necessary stakeholders and concerns.

Good architects will have keyed in on the terms mandatory & EA Purposes. They know that different EA Purposes address different questions and use the resulting decisions differently. An organization using good enterprise architecture to guide every change effort to move the organization closer to a preferred target requires consistent trade-off comparisons. Mandatory stakeholders and concerns directly enable hard trade-offs.

High-functioning EA teams are predictable. They know the key questions that need answering, the information required, and they re-use previous analysis and decision. They deliver. A viewpoint library is the foundation. The approach to building a viewpoint library is straightforward. Not easy, just straightforward.

At the base of a viewpoint library are the concerns that form the basis of trade-off. Consider the classic cost vs. agility trade-off, or another old chestnut, time-to-market vs. sustainability. The set of key trade-off decisions provide the mandatory concerns. In practice, the good architect finds a target that provides time-to-market & sustainability. No sense performing trade-off on everything when good architects can narrow trade-off discussions to where there is a true trade-off against competing preference.

We provide custom enterprise architecture training for developing Architecture Views and Viewpoints.

Developing a Viewpoint Library provides a repeatable, fast path to delivering value. Identify what you need to know to explain the target in terms of normal criteria.

Architecture views have an important role in enterprise architecture governance. Despite this many consider architecture views a bureaucratic overhead and avoid them.

The Leader's Guide Chapter 8 speaks about identifying the criteria your stakeholders normally use. Then optimize your method to use these criteria.

Avoiding artificial trade-off and addressing true trade-off requires capturing the stakeholders’ preferences within a concern. For every stakeholder concern the architect needs to obtain the stakeholders’ preferences. Preferences can be stated regarding priority, minimum requirements, or developed through previous analysis and trade-off.

Enterprise architects used to architecting after critical decisions are made often look for requirements, instead of preferences. In the absence of superior architecture requirements should not be available until after the set of stakeholders perform trade-off. Requirements limit the architects and stakeholders degrees of freedom. They lock down parts of a possible answer and force the architect and stakeholder to work around immovable objects. Worse, most requirements are only badly considered trade-off decisions.

You can find additional stable, enduring practice in the TOGAF Body of Knowledge.

The Personal Enterprise Architecture Kickstart spends several sessions exploring Communicating with Stakeholders, Concerns and Architecture Views.

The 12-week program to be a better architect is free.

Stakeholder questions dive architecture views

Identifying stakeholders has been unnecessarily complicated by terminology definitions. Formal definitions have to be broad enough to include a multitude of edge-cases. After blurring the definition to include all reasonably conceivable stakeholders, the definition provides no means to focus our attention. ISO 420101’s guidance and TOGAF 9.1’s stakeholder management technique are useful. Best practice is to limit the use of the term stakeholders to those whose ‘concerns are considered fundamental to the architecture’, or those ‘with power’.

Once the EA Team has narrowed on a set of mandatory stakeholders and concerns, a viewpoint library can be developed. We know who must be served, and the subjects used to perform trade-off. We know which architecture views we need to prepare.

We are ready to fill out the Viewpoint Library Template.

Speed Development with Viewpoint Library

What is the Concern? What is one criteria the stakeholder will use to assess the target architecture? Who is the Stakeholder? What does the enterprise architect need to know to describe the target architecture in terms of the concern? How will the View be constructed?
Change Impact - What is the impact, or scope, of a change to the architecture? Senior Leader Changes to existing initiatives (Work, Outcome & Value). Changes to budget Changes to organization. Changes to operations. Changes to customer engagement. Changes to infrastructure (Facility, Plant & IT) Tables work very well. You will never be able to identify Change Impact without a Gap.

In Navigate we have a set of starter viewpoint libraries. These include standard concerns, stakeholders, and the Navigate meta-model entities required to address regular questions. We invest heavily in our viewpoint libraries, and the view construction techniques. We ruthlessly minimize the information demands of the EA Repository. We focus the EA Team on required value. (We also struggle with great visual representations: ABACUS’ 3D bubble/relationship charts only go so far when comparing multiple possible road maps)

Without a viewpoint library, we trap the enterprise architect without a stopping point. Rather than working on the primary stakeholders’ concerns and the associated trade-off decisions, they work on random issues. Low functioning enterprise architects pretend to address an infinite number of individuals, teams, or organizations with interests in the outcome masquerading as stakeholders.

When this happens, we compromise enterprise architecture governance. You never get past the trap of architecture by assertion.

The last stage of developing a viewpoint library is working on “View Construction” and “Information Required.”

Architecture view is not a simplified model

Most modeling tools and discussions confuse architecture views and models. A view addresses the architecture regarding stakeholder and concern. Models simplifications of the real world that show us how components fit together—a description so darned close to what an architecture is that we may as well accept that an architecture is a model. Few mandatory concerns will have a viewpoint that can be constructed using a single model or analytic technique.

Time saving with Viewpoint Library

EA Team’s with radically lower information demands are positioned to crisply focus time and energy on expected value and real stakeholders. Without clarity on mandatory stakeholders and concerns, they will spend time chasing distractions, like a Jack Russell Terrier. In a perfect world, the EA Repository and Content Meta-model are tightly aligned. Discrete information needs referencing separate catalogs and matrices, or models that need to be developed in the EA Repository.

This stage requires close work with your EA Leader and EA Repository experts. Consider the questions your EA Team must answer, what information you need to address the mandatory concerns. What architecture view will you use?

Challenge everything. Ruthlessly minimize the analytic load. If every so-called trade-off decision has picked time-to-market over sustainability, the enterprise architects need to architect. Listen to the stakeholders and develop a target that enables time-to-market. Get out of the trap of Knowing Better. Provide analysis to support real trade-off.

We cannot stress enough the iterative nature of this stage. Far too many teams submerge themselves in minutia not required for any EA Purpose, let alone the current EA Purpose. Fun facts and minutia are distractions from the end-goal of supporting decision making and facilitating stakeholders' direct and control change.

Become efficient at developing an architecture view. Develop your Viewpoint Library. Look at your architecturally significant stakeholders, and their concerns. When your analysis and reporting focus on the primary stakeholders’ concerns, you are focused on value. You will align your architecture to your organizations’ preferences and priorities. If you started from a low-functioning place, you might not recognize yourself. However, you will follow a repeatable, fast path to delivering value.

View are used in all domains. Security Architects will create architecture views related to security and risk concerns.

The Leader's Guide and the Practitioner's Guide provide a sample set of core stakeholders and concerns for architecture to support portfolio.

Conexiam’s EA Capability Practice’s most sustained area of research is Architecture View Construction. We also call it visualization.

Navigate is oriented towards quantification. We aim to support trade-off and iterative decision making.

In every Predictable EA Sprint allocates time to improving the EA Team’s toolkit. A high fraction of time is working on the Architecture Viewpoint Library, and information analytics. Ruthless minimization takes time and practice.

Scroll to Top