理解敏捷开发和 EA

敏捷和企业架构完美地融合在一起。两者都解决了问题的不同部分。

敏捷软件开发擅长构建我们从未有过的,不知道如何做的东西。当您不知道该怎么做时,企业架构会在做出决定之前表现出众。

敏捷性,企业架构和软件开发在三个领域融合在一起

  1. 架构敏捷企业
  2. 敏捷的工作实践,以开发最佳实践的企业体系结构
  3. 敏捷软件开发与企业架构

大多数建筑师跳到最后。他们试图将两个大相径庭的世界融合在一起,通常不停地了解其中一个。

我与新聘的系统可靠性工程师进行了有趣的交谈。 SRE专家感到非常兴奋。我们终于开始了现代实践CI / CD实践。她问我EA团队正在做什么?

当她问时,我不得不微笑, EA团队正在做些什么来帮助'她真正的意思是,你今天要怎么支持我'今天,面对她眼前的挑战,可能是-什么都没有。她跳到EA团队如何支持她的日常工作。

她从来没有见过引入容器,测试数据管理以及坦率地说不足以提供自动化测试套件的产品组合路线图。她没有意识到相同的旧路线图确定了为她的工作提供资金的过渡点。

成功的EA团队可以实现他们的目标。他们没有兑现其他任何东西。即使他们可以。

六个用例涵盖了敏捷和企业架构的所有方面

思考企业体系结构的一个简单框架是询问其支持什么?

  1. 支持策略
  2. 支持投资组合
  3. 支持项目
  4. 支持解决方案交付

https://conexiam.com/togaf-9-2-body-of-knowledge/

敏捷开发与企业架构

当链接到敏捷软件开发时,会询问相同的问题,团队应协助他们回答什么。某些一致性是由企业体系结构团队设计要支持的驱动的。

  1. 定义敏捷方法
  2. 指导sprint中的积压
  3. 限制冲刺
  4. 解决跨产品依赖性
敏捷和企业架构工作产品

敏捷与企业架构:定义敏捷方法

通常,为策略和产品组合服务的EA团队会 定义敏捷方法。

产品

产品在路线图上显示为空白或工作包。 EA团队可能会谈论能力或业务服务。当他们这样做时,期望看到新的或返工的产品。

平台类

EA支持敏捷开发工作产品什么将支持或操作该产品?了解产品是基于新平台的独立产品,使用现有平台的产品,还是利用第三方平台的产品,通常会在零冲刺之前确定敏捷方法的关键要素。

较弱的从业者将专注于定义“平台”之类的术语。清晰,过于精确的定义是一个陷阱。花几秒钟的时间,对于某人来说谈论SAP,0365,Facebook,Pega甚至Angular和Containers作为平台是完全合理的。该术语需要一个狭义定义的上下文。您需要的是消费者和运营商的同意。我屈从于指定一种产品被其他人使用的平台的诱惑。学徒们试图确定它是产品还是平台。

服务提供策略

顶级路线图最好清楚地说明如何实施转换。例子包括。

  • 建立强大的内部能力还是使用第三方?
  • 确保使用寿命长的可持续系统或将部分或全部产品视为一次性Kleenex?

主要价值休息点

我们通常将“价值休息点”用作体系结构转换的代名词。始终为利益相关者提供准入门槛。我们使用坡道有两个原因:

  1. 当达到下一个静止点的努力超过了增量值时。
    这是一个投资回报率对话。 ROI对话通常会导致优先级发生变化。
  2. 当努力达到一个休息点时,可能会达到一种更加令人兴奋或有益的休息。

权衡的对话提供了战略或投资组合路线图练习中最有价值的结果之一。资源是有限的。高级领导者总是在寻找最佳路径,而不是最高的潜在回报。最好的道路。考虑因素包括静止时的比较值和作为其他活动的跳板的潜在值。

实施者很少了解这些对话。他们在情感上归属于一条道路或休息点。尤其是在考虑产品的存在或下一个发行版时。

敏捷和企业架构:Sprint中的积压指南

支持项目组合和项目的EA从业人员通常会通过指导Sprint的积压工作来与敏捷团队合作。

我已经观察到,太多的敏捷传播者感到惊讶,因为那些坚定致力于敏捷软件开发的利益的组织仍然坚定地致力于计划和长期预算。通常,谈话会使神话般的文化偏爱瀑布。

而是考虑问题。由于生态系统的复杂性,存在长期的计划和预算编制。每个组织都有多条前进的道路和不同的约束条件。成功的组织执行优先级和权衡。如果在时间和资源上都无法达到首选的未来,则不应开始任何工作。

敏捷和企业架构工作产品

企业架构归结为约束。每个约束都限制了敏捷软件开发团队的创造力。在没有约束的压倒性需求的情况下,不必这样做。只是不要。

指导产品的路线图

对于一支才华横溢的EA团队而言,指导产品的路线图是最困难的交付成果之一。知道您要去哪里而不知道如何到达那里的根本压力是一个热点。

太多的架构团队陷入了人工精度或想象中的无所不知的陷阱。两者都是表达瀑布思维的奇特方式。

当团队拥有各种自由度时,敏捷开发将带来惊人的结果。只是想想未开发的独立产品的最佳选择。

好的架构常常会归结为提供最小的约束,以确保决策不会通过对决策者而言不明显的测试。如果决策者可以看到测试,则不需要架构来约束测试。当因素不在建筑师的视野范围之内时,存在架构可以指导或限制选择。

经典的EA路线图将讲述过渡,差距和工作包。这对于产品团队来说是无法理解的。与产品负责人将路线图转换为正确的条款。产品负责人需要了解他们在其中操作的约束。

期待紧张

指导史诗的路线图

对于有才华的EA团队而言,指导史诗的路线图是最难交付的。我一直想着在轰炸中被困在雷场中。无处可去。

对时间轴的期望使瀑布式思维的常见陷阱变得更糟。敏捷团队以人为的精确度和想象中的无所不知的发现能力前进,破坏了敏捷开发中的一切。只是不要这样做!

没有紧密集成或严格限制的产品,史诗般的路线图注定要失败。必要时,示例包括在一个生态系统中共存并共享参考数据的多种产品。消耗彼此的数据会经常需要相关的史诗或复杂的惩罚性规定。

没有外部压力,请勿执行此活动。自我指定的无所不知的从业者过度规范和过度设计是我们发明的敏捷可以放弃的一件事。如果您发现自己不得不制定史诗般的路线图,请确保您确切地理解了为什么有必要限制软件开发人员的创造力。限制他们自由和创造力的每一个约束都最好克服来自无限制创造力的价值传递

期待失败。

当我们取得成功时,我们将积极采用SaFE等方法的语言,并根据战略主题和体系结构跑道制定路线图。

企业价值

优秀的架构将始终解决利益相关者的共同担忧。它应该提供一组内部一致的原则,这些原则对值的定义施加了约束。这里的架构确保了评估价值的草率不会造成下游成本。

松散的价值评估是好的架构要解决的最常见问题。暂时性注意事项规则。经典的二分法是战术上市时间与安全性,弹性或稳定性之间的区别。当您的组织有当务之急时,则需要告知产品经理和Scrum团队。否则,他们将无法根据真正重要的指标来适当评估积压。

约束“自下而上”的产品所有者

太多的产品所有者不了解其产品存在的原因,或者太多的产品所有者不了解其产品存在的原因或生态系统的作用。通过禁止选择或强制进行评分和评估来限制自下而上的产品所有者的自由。

敏捷与企业架构:约束冲刺

开发架构以支持项目和解决方案交付的EA从业人员应该期望限制冲刺。正在开发生态系统或平台的面向投资组合的从业人员也应该期望与此处的敏捷团队合作。

对于曾经积极从事开发工作的新建筑师而言,限制冲刺在情感上可能会很困难。很难丢掉旧工作。通常,主题专业知识会导致过度规范化和过度设计。任何限制他们自由和创造力的约束都必须证明,它超越了无限创造力带来的价值传递。

离开旧工作的困难是为什么我们将对待企业体系结构新手的每个人都视为 纽伯。新毕业生和拥有30年从事企业架构以外工作经验的人都是新架构师。

我看了多年的新建筑师 其他 亲密接触。他们有许多不良习惯,使他们无法成为高水平的建筑师。

敏捷和企业架构工作产品

内森(Nathan)和山姆(Sam)谈论 培养新的企业架构师。所有的东西都非常重要 企业架构师 了解决策权并为利益相关者服务。

验收标准

外部定义的接受标准是与冲刺之间非常简单的联系。如果体系结构需要某些内容,则将其作为接受标准。除非细节水平非常接近于干扰敏捷创造力,否则约束将是一致的。业务架构,数据架构应用程序架构或基础架构将有需求。体系结构规范将是主体,模式或标准。提供约束条件作为接受标准。对齐Sprint或释放。然后躲开并观察创造力

州长指南

他们是否合理地解释了目标体系结构的指导和约束?

  • 如果是,则应接受其解释为合规。这是关键。好的体系结构可以有多种实现选择。实施者不需要坚持意见。如果实施选择是合理的解释,则它是合规的。

价值(措施和休息点)

冲突的复发点是对价值的理解。

敏捷软件开发的最佳实践注重价值。不幸的是,大多数从业者对价值的理解有限。快速的速记就是用交付的东西来表达价值。该值在交货中是不言而喻的。

在复杂的世界中,交付的东西很容易降低价值。一个简单的例子是针对目标客户的功能或工作单元之间的工作移动。当产品提供一组服务时,这很常见。我们强烈建议您学习有关局部优化和价值的基本精益和六西格玛实践。同样,目标客户和价值主张的业务模型画布概念也很有帮助。

为了应对这些挑战,我们希望业务架构能够确定如何评估价值。该架构需要向开发团队提供价值评估标准。

绿地,进化或革命

在TOGAF的E期中,有一个很酷的步骤。查看工作包,然后选择适当的策略。

作品是《绿野》,《进化》还是《革命》?我们是否要保留尽可能多的内容,从根本上重构还是从头开始?这是至关重要的指导,也是对敏捷团队的强大约束。他们是否从头开始(格林菲尔德)?逐步改进现有系统(演进)?还是执行预期的根本改变以消除我们一直生活的摩擦和麻烦(革命性的革命)?

方法的选择可能不是他们的。当他们没有选择权时,它将总是由高于薪资水平的选择所驱动。

约束接口

当产品必须适合现有企业环境或支持不断发展的企业环境时,接口是关键。接口将由数据和方法驱动。即使产品正在出现,在复杂的世界中,也没有自由允许数据结构或接口也出现。主数据,参考数据和现有系统都将限制敏捷开发。

现有系统将不会更改。甚至F-22 Raptor都必须使用1970年代开发的接口与旧系统连接。即使是一架昂贵的飞机也无法改造旧系统。 Raptor适合现有的接口和数据结构。

快速发展的团队忽略了一个共同的约束,那就是多辖区立法或业务计划将如何影响产品。在这种情况下,EA团队有责任挖掘并开发最小限度的约束,以防止产品在不方便的时候需要进行彻底的重构。像对创造力的所有限制一样,优秀的EA从业人员也了解足够的重要性。

企业架构与敏捷:解决依赖性

可以期望在企业中工作的EA从业人员需要介入并解决产品解决方案和系统之间出现的依赖性和冲突。简单地看一下TOGAF的G阶段,它突出了对指南和体系结构进行更改的需求。敏捷的开发和现代集成的范围使这种长期存在的需求服务比以往任何时候都更加重要。

敏捷和企业架构工作产品

解锁投资组合

即使您不受传统的束缚,也将有多种产品向前发展。具有创造力的最佳实践敏捷开发团队将找到解决问题的不同方法。期望创造力不会造成冲突是愚蠢的。可以预期,一个出色的EA团队将在G阶段(该阶段进行所有敏捷软件开发)中进行工作,以消除整个企业产品组合中的冲突。

确定真正的利益相关者

真正的利益相关者通常很难找到。委派了许多战术决策。当代表团正式访问时,敏捷团队可以期望获得合理的访问权限。在代表团是非正式的情况下,可以期望当地的主题专家和用户来推动不协调的议程。

企业体系结构团队没有特殊的参与能力。他们确实有能力通过高级架构来表达利益相关者的关注。

交叉投资组合

产品负责人和开发团队的其他成员被迫逐步交付一种产品。最小的可行产品和增量交付是敏捷价值主张的核心。

整个敏捷方法来自于观察到的失败,这些失败是试图想象复杂投资组合中的每个交互的失败,这就是失败的路径。自上而下的详细企业设计可以适用于隔离的系统。在不断变化的生态系统中,自上而下的设计始终会失败。该失败路径是为什么存在敏捷以及为什么首选敏捷的原因。

几乎不可能想象一个复杂的未来,为此而付出的努力常常沦为闹剧。然而,我们需要做的恰到好处。随着多种产品的出现,新的冲突和协同作用将出现。一个优秀的EA团队,对其企业优先级的变化有深刻的了解,将有助于解决协同作用和冲突。

当EA团队发现交叉路口时,他们需要利用自己的洞察力和参与度来获得最佳答案。通常,这将是一种风险管理的方法。快速评估冲突以确定是否可以推迟解决方案是第一步。利用协同作用并避免冲突是很昂贵的。昂贵且费时。它们直接干扰产品上市时间。

当我们必须跨越投资组合时,我们就市场力量和创造性破坏而言。

释放影响

足够多的体系结构意味着在发布之前未发现任何意外情况,每个约束,每个冲突。

在一种情况下,架构团队会遇到紧急情况。这是释放后的危机。那些影响超出产品范围的罕见情况。产品在野外。组织内部和外部的最终用户都在使用它。他们正在处理缺陷,或更糟的是,为我们的组织带来了意料之外的风险和责任。

敏捷与企业架构的总结

敏捷开发和企业体系结构都遭受长期错误应用的困扰。太多时候在同一时间。

六个用例涵盖了敏捷和企业架构的所有方面。企业体系结构指导并限制了敏捷软件的开发。

在链接到敏捷软件开发时,企业架构师需要:

  1. 定义敏捷方法
  2. 指导sprint中的积压
  3. 限制冲刺
  4. 解决跨产品依赖性

企业架构归结为极限-做到这一点,不要这样做。每个限制都限制了敏捷软件开发团队的创造力。在没有约束的压倒性需求的情况下,不必这样做。只是不要。

https://conexiam.com/togaf-9-2-body-of-knowledge/

TOGAF知识体系 支持开发有效的治理方法。

加入个人企业架构启动

免费12周计划,成为一名更好的企业架构师

滚动到顶部

Understanding Agile Development and EA

Agile and Enterprise Architecture fit together wonderfully. Both solve different parts of the problem.

Agile software development excels at building something that we have never had before and do not know how. Enterprise architecture excels before decisions when you do not know what to do.

Agility, Enterprise Architecture and software development fit together in three areas

  1. architect an agile enterprise
  2. agile work practices to develop best-practice enterprise architecture
  3. agile software development & enterprise architecture

Most architects jump to the last. They try to fit two wildly divergent worlds together, usually without stopping to understand either.

I had an amusing conversation with the newly hired Systems Reliability Engineer. The SRE specialist was excited. We finally started modern practices CI/CD practices. She asked me what the EA Team was doing to help?

I had to smile when she asked, ‘what is EA Team doing to help?’ What she really meant was, ‘what are you doing to support me today?’ Today, against her immediate challenges it could be – nothing. She jumped to how the EA team supported her day-to-day job.

She never saw the portfolio roadmap that brought in containers, test data management, and frankly a laughably insufficient automated testing suite. She didn’t realize that same old roadmap identified a transition point that funded her job.

Successful EA teams deliver on their purpose. They do not deliver on anything else. Even if they could.

Six Use Cases cover all aspects of Agile and Enterprise Architecture

A simple framework for thinking about enterprise architecture is to ask what they support?

  1. support Strategy
  2. support Portfolio
  3. support Project
  4. support Solution Delivery

https://conexiam.com/togaf-9-2-body-of-knowledge/

Agile Development and Enterprise Architecture

When linking to agile software development, the same question is asked, what they should the team assist in answering. Some of the alignment is driven by what the enterprise architecture team is designed to support.

  1. defining the agile approach
  2. guiding the backlog in sprint
  3. constraining the sprints
  4. solving for cross product dependency
Agile and Enterprise Architecture Work Product

Agile and Enterprise Architecture: Define the Agile Approach

Typically, an EA Team that is serving Strategy and Portfolio will define the agile approach.

Product

Products appear on a roadmap as gaps or work packages. The EA team may speak about capability or business service. When they do, expect to see the new, or reworked products.

Platforms

EA supporting Agile Development Work ProductWhat will support or operate the product? Knowing whether the product is stand-alone, based on a new platform, using an existing platform, or leverage in third-party platforms, will define key elements of your agile approach, usually well before sprint-zero.

Weaker practitioners will fixate on defining terms like “Platform.” A crisp, overly precise definition is a trap.  Take a few seconds consideration,it is perfectly reasonable for someone to talk about SAP, 0365, Facebook, Pega, or even Angular and Containers as platforms. The term needs a context for a narrow definition. All you need is the consumer and operator to agree. I have succumbed to the temptation to specify a product that was a platform consumed by others. The pedants tried to determine whether it was product or platform.

Service delivery strategy

Top-level roadmaps better be clear about how to implement the transformation. Examples include.

  • Build a robust in-house capability or use third parties?
  • Ensure long-lived sustainable systems or treat some or all products as disposable Kleenex?

Major value resting points

We routinely use Value Resting Points as a synonym for architecture transitions. Always provide your stakeholders with an off-ramp. We use off-ramps for two reasons:

  1. When the effort to reach the next resting point exceeds the incremental value.
    This is an ROI conversation. ROI conversations typically lead to change in priority.
  2. When the effort to reach one resting point could reach a more exciting or rewarding resting.

Trade-off conversations provide one of the most valuable outcomes of a strategy or portfolio roadmap exercise. Resources are finite. Senior leaders are always on the look-out for the best-path-forward, not the highest potential return. The best path. Considerations include comparative value at rest and potential value as a springboard for other activity.

Implementers rarely understand these conversations. They become emotionally vested in one path or resting point. Especially when the existence of the product, or the next release, is under consideration.

Agile and Enterprise Architecture: Guide Backlog in Sprint

EA practitioners who support portfolio and project will often engage with agile teams by guiding backlog in Sprint.

I have observed that it surprises too many agile evangelists that organizations deeply committed to the benefits of agile software development remain deeply committed to planning and longer-term budgeting. Usually, the conversation confuses a mythical cultural preference for a waterfall.

Instead think about the problem. Longer-term planning and budgeting exist because of ecosystem complexity. Every organization has multiple paths forward and different constraints. Successful organizations perform prioritization and trade-off. Without reaching the preferred future in the time and resource constraints, no work should start.

Agile and Enterprise Architecture Work Product

Enterprise Architecture boils down to constraints. Every constraint limits the creativity of an agile software development team. Without an overriding need for constraint, do not. Just Don’t.

Roadmap to guide product

Roadmap to guide product is among the most difficult deliverables for a talented EA Team. The fundamental tension of knowing where you are going without knowing how to get there is a hot spot.

Too many architecture teams fall into the trap of artificial precision or imagined omniscience. Both are fancy ways of saying waterfall thinking.

Agile development delivers stunning results when the team has every degree of freedom. Just think about the sweet spot of a greenfield stand-alone product.

Often good architecture comes down to providing the minimum constraints to ensure decisions do not fail a test that is not apparent to the decision-maker. If the decision-maker can see the test, you do not need architecture to constrain them. Architecture exists to guide or constrain choice when the factor is outside the architects  field of view.

A classic EA roadmap will speak to transitions, gaps, and work packages. It will be incomprehensible to a product team. Transition the roadmap to the right terms with the product owner. The product owner needs to understand the constraints they are operating within.

Expect tension

Roadmap to guide epic

Roadmap to guide epic is the most difficult deliverable for a talented EA Team. I always think about being stuck in a minefield during a bombing. There is no-where safe to go.

Timeline expectations make the common trap of waterfall thinking worse. Jumping ahead of an agile team’s journey of discovery with artificial precision & imagined omniscience undermines everything in agile development. Just don’t do it!

Without tightly integrated, or tightly constrained products, roadmaps for epic are doomed to fail. Examples, where this is necessary, include multiple products coexisting within an ecosystem, and sharing reference data. Consuming each other’s data exhaust will often need associated epics or complex punitive regulation.

Without  external pressure, do not perform this activity. Over-specification and over-design by self-designated omniscient practitioners are one thing we invented agile to dispense with. If you find yourself forced to roadmaps to epics, make sure you understand exactly why it is necessary to constrain the creativity of your software developers. Every constraint that restricts their freedom and creativity had better serve over-ride the value delivery that comes from unbridled creativity

Expect failure.

When we have made this succeed, we have actively adopted the language of methods like SaFE and framed the roadmap in terms of strategic themes and architecture runways.

Enterprise value

Superior architecture will always address common stakeholder concerns. It should provide an internally consistent set of principles that provide constraint on value definition. Here the architecture is ensuring that sloppiness in assessing value does not create downstream costs.

Sloppy value assessment is the most common problem good architecture addresses. Transitory considerations rule. A classic dichotomy is the distinction between tactical time to market and security, resiliency or stability. When your organization has imperatives product managers and scrum teams need to be told. Otherwise they cannot appropriately assess the backlog against metrics that truly matter.

Constrain ‘bottom up’ product owners

Too many product owners do not have visibility into why their product exists or Too many product owners do not have visibility to why their product exists, or what the ecosystem role is. Constrain the freedom of a bottom up product owner either by prohibiting choice or enforcing scoring and assessment.

Agile and Enterprise Architecture: Constrain sprints

EA practitioners developing architecture to support project and solution delivery should expect to constrain sprints. Portfolio-oriented practitioners who are developing an ecosystem or platform should also expect to work with the agile teams here.

Constraining sprints can be emotionally difficult for new architects who used to be active in development. It is hard to leave your old job behind. Often subject matter expertise leads to creeping over-specification and over-design. Every constraint that restricts their freedom and creativity must demonstrate it over-rides the value delivery that comes from unbridled creativity.

The difficulty of leaving your old job is why we treat everyone who is new to enterprise architecture as a newb. The new graduate and the person with 30-years’ experience doing something other than enterprise architecture are new architects.

I watch new architects with years of other experience closer. They have many bad habits that prevent them from being high-functioning architects.

Agile and Enterprise Architecture Work Product

Nathan and Sam speaking about developing new enterprise architects. It is very important that all enterprise architects understand decision rights and serving stakeholders.

Acceptance criteria

A very simple linkage into a sprint is externally defined acceptance criteria. If the architecture requires something, frame it as acceptance criteria. Unless the level of detail is very close to interfering in agile creativity the constraint is going to be something consistent.  There will be a demand from the business architecture, data architecture application architecture, or infrastructure architecture. The architecture specification will be a principal, pattern, or standard. Provide the constraint as acceptance criteria. Either align to a Sprint, or release. Then get out of the way and watch the creativity

Governor’s Guide

Did they reasonably interpret the target architecture’s guidance and constraint?

  • If yes, their interpretation should be accepted as compliance. This is a key point. Good architecture can have multiple implementation choices. The implementer is not required to adhere to opinion. If the implementation choice is a reasonable interpretation, it is compliant.

Value (measures and resting points)

A recurrent point of conflict is understanding value.

Best practice agile software development is value focused. Unfortunately, most practitioners have a limited understanding of value. The quick shorthand is value is expressed in terms of something was delivered. The value is self-evident in the delivery.

In a complex world the thing delivered could easily be degrading value. An easy example are features aimed away from target customers, or the movement of work between work units. This is common when one group is served by the product.  We strongly recommend learning basic Lean and Six-Sigma practices about local optimization and value. As well, the Business Model Canvas concepts of Target Customer and Value Proposition are helpful.

To address these challenges, we expect the business architecture to be definitive about how value is assessed. The architecture needs to provide value assessment criteria to the development teams.

Greenfield, Evolution, or Revolution

In TOGAF’s Phase E there is a cool step. Look at the work package and select an appropriate strategy.

Will the work be Greenfield, Evolutionary or Revolutionary? Do we want to preserve as much as possible, radically refactor or start from scratch? This is critical guidance, and a strong constraint on an agile team. Do they to start from scratch (Greenfield)? Improve the existing systems incrementally (evolution)? Or perform radical change in expected to eliminate the friction and hassles we have been living with (Revolutionary)?

The approach choice may not be theirs. When they do not have the choice, it will always be driven by choices above their paygrade.

Constrain interfaces

When a product must fit within an existing enterprise environment, or support an evolving enterprise environment, interfaces are key. Interfaces will be driven by data and method. Even when the product is emerging, in a complex world, there will not be freedom to allow data structure or interface to also emerge. Master data, reference data and existing systems will all constrain agile development.

Existing systems are not going to be changed. Even the F-22 Raptor had to connect with legacy systems using interfaces developed in the 1970s. Even a plane that expensive could not get legacy systems remodeled. The Raptor fit inside existing interface and data structure.

A common constraint overlooked by fast-moving teams is how  multi-jurisdictional legislation,or a business plan will impact the product. In these cases, the EA team has a duty to dig in and develop the minimum necessary constraints to prevent the product from requiring radical re-factoring at an inconvenient moment. Like all constraints on creativity, good EA practitioners understand the importance of just enough.

Enterprise Architecture & Agile: Solve Dependency

EA practitioners working in an enterprise can be expected to need to step in and solve dependency and conflict that arise between products solutions and systems. Simply look at TOGAF phase G, it highlights the need for guidance and architecture change. Agile development and the scope of modern integration make this long-lived need service more important than it has ever been.

Agile and Enterprise Architecture Work Product

Unblock the portfolio

Even if you are not constrained by legacy, there will be multiple products moving forward. Creative best practice agile development teams are going to find different ways to address problems. It is foolish to expect that creativity will not create conflict. A good EA team working in Phase G, where all agile software development happens, can be expected to unblock the conflict across the enterprises portfolio.

Identify real stakeholders

Real stakeholders are often hard to find. Many tactical decisions are delegated. When the delegation is formal, the agile team can expect to have reasonable access. Where the delegation is informal, local subject-matter-experts and users can be expected to drive an unaligned agenda.

The enterprise architecture team does not have a special ability to gain engagement. They do have an ability to represent the stakeholders concerns through superior architecture.

Cross the portfolio

Product owners, and other members of a development team, are driven to incrementally deliver one product. Minimal viable product and incremental delivery lay at the core of the agile value proposition.

The whole agile approach comes from the observed failure of trying to imagine every interaction across a complex portfolio, this is the failure path. Detailed top-down enterprise design can work for isolated systems. Inside an ecosystem that is changing, top-down design always fails. That failure path is why agile exists and why agile is preferred.

It is nearly impossible to imagine a complex future, efforts to do so often devolve into farce. Yet we need to do just enough. As multiple products emerge, new conflict and synergy will emerge. A good EA team, with a rich understanding of the changes in priorities of their enterprise, will help address synergy and conflict.

When the EA team discovers intersections, they need to use their insight and engagement to get the best answer. Often this will be a risk-managed approach. Rapidly assessing the conflict to determine whether the resolution can be deferred is the first step. Taking advantage of synergy and avoiding conflict are expensive. Expensive and time- consuming. They directly interfere with time-to-market.

We speak in terms of market forces and creative destruction when we must cross the portfolio.

Release impact

Just enough architecture means that every contingency, every constraint, every conflict, was not discovered prior to release.

There is one case when an architecture team has an emergency. It is post-release crisis. Those rare cases when implications extend past the product. Product is in the wild. End users inside and outside our organization are using it. They are either dealing with a defect, or worse, creating unanticipated risk and liability for our organization.

Conclusion of Agile and Enterprise Architecture

Both agile development and enterprise architecture suffer from chronic misapplication. Too often at the same time.

Six Use Cases cover all aspects of Agile and Enterprise Architecture. Enterprise architecture guides and constrains agile software development.

When linking to agile software development, the enterprise architects need to:

  1. defining the agile approach
  2. guiding the backlog in sprint
  3. constraining the sprints
  4. solving for cross product dependency

Enterprise Architecture boils down to limits - do this, don't do that. Every limit restricts the creativity of an agile software development team. Without an overriding need for constraint, do not. Just Don’t.

https://conexiam.com/togaf-9-2-body-of-knowledge/

The TOGAF Body of Knowledge supports developing an effective governance approach.

Join the Personal Enterprise Architecture Kickstart

Free 12-week program to be a better enterprise architect

Scroll to Top