陷阱#67令人困惑的角色

企业架构师知道他们的角色是促进更好的决策。他们的价值主张来自分析。他们支持拥有复杂决策的人-利益相关者。

崩溃故事

低功能的EA团队。一个又一个的反模式。

如果您看到这些做法,请停止!现在停下!
在您仍然可以的情况下弹出。

企业架构墓地

了解避免的故障模式

企业架构师指南

下载 企业架构师指南 关于开发有用的企业架构的 TOGAF 系列指南。测试

做一个更好的建筑师

免费的90天个人企业架构师Kickstart成为一名更好的架构师.
每周录制的在线讲座,并有下载

免费EA社区会员
免费的培训,指导,工具和技术,来自 Conexiam咨询

从今天开始

专家站着,讲话,并假设他们对世界的看法是确定的,我们将排队并按他们的步调前进。通常会认真讨论如何实施专家变更。然后什么也没有发生。

专家沮丧地重新召开了一次较小的会议,这次会议经历了相同的旅程,但没有任何反应。在短时间内,专家加入了一个安静的小组,他们互相抱怨 一条真实的道路。他们谁也无法弄清为什么没人在听—他们混淆了他们的角色 主题专家 具有决定权的作用 利益相关者.

角色混淆是我们发明企业架构的根本原因之一。如果狭interests的兴趣或专家的意见实际上导致了一个更好的世界,那么我们就不需要企业架构的开销。真正的建筑师与决策者对话,并提供信息以做出明智的决策。然后,帮助指导和控制所产生的变更程序。

与...紧密相关 陷阱1:拥有决策权 令人困惑的角色。结果是一样的:他们没有进行认真的架构开发,而真正的损害却是忽略了折衷和规范的可追溯性。我们将混淆变更程序;通常,组织会面临随机的优先级重新排序和关于决策选择的适用性的争论,而决策框架不会指出持续的价值。

角色混乱在功能低下的EA团队中很普遍。弄清架构创建和使用中涉及的不同角色是开发功能强大的EA团队的最重要步骤之一。

在里面 体系结构治理的基础,并在 TOGAF 企业架构师指南 我们确定了一组从事体系结构开发的关键角色:

  • 利益相关者
  • 利益相关者代理
  • 决策者
  • 主题专家
  • 实施者
  • 审核员

最常见的角色混淆是在以下情况下发生的: 主题专家 或者 实施者 颠覆 利益相关者代理。他们表现出他们的狭och偏好 既成事实 与批准的架构的力量。

优秀的架构师知道,好的架构不会针对单一问题进行优化。良好的架构通过在组织环境的目标和战略中进行积极的权衡来满足利益相关者的偏好。架构开发明确解决了通过开发显示的利益相关者关注点 观看次数.

良好的架构开发可以通过权衡利弊来平衡利益相关者的偏好。好的架构的很大一部分价值来自权衡过程,在此过程中,将目标的潜在价值与变更的影响和成本进行了测试。当人为地要求批准角色时,折衷就是短路。更糟糕的是,他们都是通过 学科专家的专家 专业或实施和运营方面的挑战。

通常 主题专家 和 实施者 令人困惑的角色认为他们是在误解了建筑师自己的决定的情况下充当建筑师的角色。这种角色混淆的一个典型标志是无法提供架构(请参阅 陷阱#16只是示意图)。当伪装者无法识别角色时,执行体系结构治理很容易引起角色混乱。 利益相关者的关注,提供与目标和策略的明确一致性,或确定已进行的权衡。

此陷阱最危险的表达是 企业架构师 被他们在先前的权衡和实施治理活动中获得的知识和经验所吸引,并担任利益相关者代理。理论上,我们总是用 利益相关者。我们必须常规地简化架构开发,并与“利益相关者代理”互动。

当受到诱惑时,苦苦挣扎的企业架构师会占用 利益相关者的 专有决策权。鉴于*建筑师*通常需要充当 利益相关者代理 在进行捷径和执行战术实施治理时,此陷阱会潜入最谨慎的从业人员。随着他们代表做出更多声明 利益相关者 * Architect *变得更加自信,并确定了关键的优先级 利益相关者.

该陷阱的解决方案是 架构开发过程的有效治理。即使是非正式地浏览治理清单,也会吸引优秀的从业者:当他们不能在竞争性偏好之间做出权衡时,当他们不能为多个* S构想一个视图时持份者.

在现实世界中,目标永远不会完美地与单个目标,单个目标,单个目标保持一致 利益相关者 偏好,或 学科专家的专家 易感性。是一种折衷方案,可以最理想地与一系列目标,目标和目标相吻合。 利益相关者 首选项;全部由 主题专家的 建议。通过清楚地知道正在扮演什么角色,我们才能获得最佳配合。

通常 主题专家 和 实施者 令人困惑的角色认为他们正在扮演 企业架构师,对建筑师自己的决定产生了误解。角色混乱的一个典型标志是无法提供架构(请参见 陷阱#16只是示意图)。当伪装者无法识别角色时,执行体系结构治理很容易引起角色混乱。 利益相关者的关注,提供与目标和策略的明确一致性,或确定已进行的权衡。

该陷阱的解决方案是 架构开发过程的有效治理。即使是非正式地浏览治理清单,也会吸引优秀的从业者:当他们不能在竞争性偏好之间进行权衡时,当他们不能构想一个以上的视图时 利益相关者*.

如果您为此感到困惑,建议您探索一个 利益相关者研讨会 确定谁在扮演什么角色,并阐明建议与决定之间的区别。

加入个人企业架构启动

免费12周计划,成为一名更好的企业架构师

滚动到顶部

Trap #67 Confusing Roles

Enterprise architects know their role is to facilitate a better decision. Their value proposition comes from analysis. They support people who own complex decisions - the stakeholder.

Crash and burn stories

Low-functioning EA Teams. One anti-pattern after another.

If you see these practices, stop! Stop now!
Eject while you still can.

Enterprise Architecture Graveyard

Learn the failure patterns to avoid

Enterprise Architect's Guide

Download the Enterprise Architect's Guide a TOGAF Series Guide on developing useful enterprise architecture. test

Be a better architect

Free 90-day Personal Enterprise Architect Kickstart to be a better architect.
Weekly recorded webinar, with downloads

Free EA Community Membership
Free training, guidance, tools and techniques from Conexiam Consulting

Start today

The specialist stands, speaks, and assumes that their view of the world is definitive and we shall line-up and march to their tune. There is usually a serious discussion about the path to implementing the specialists' change. Then nothing happens.

The specialist, frustrated, reconvenes a smaller meeting which follows the same journey to nothing happening. Within a short period, the specialist joins a quiet group who complain to each other about the one true path. None of them can figure out why no one is listening—they have confused their role of Subject Matter Expert with the decision-rights role of Stakeholder.

Role confusion is one of the fundamental reasons we invented Enterprise Architecture. If parochial interests, or specialist opinion, actually led to a better world, we wouldn’t need the overhead of enterprise architecture. Real architects speak to decision makers and provide the information to make an informed decision. Then facilitate guiding and controlling the resulting change program.

Tightly associated with Trap 1: Owning Decision Rights is confusing roles. The outcome is the same: they developed no serious architecture development—the real damage is skipping trade-off and traceability of specification. We will muddle the change program; typically the organization faces random priority re-ranking and argument about the suitability of decision choices without a decision-making framework that points to sustained value.

Role confusion is endemic in low-functioning EA teams. Clarifying the different roles involved in the creation and consumption of architecture is one of the most important steps in developing a high functioning EA team.

In the basics of architecture governance, and in the TOGAF Enterprise Architect's Guide we identified a set of key roles engaged in architecture development:

  • Stakeholder
  • Stakeholder Agent
  • Decision Maker
  • Subject Matter Expert
  • Implementer
  • Auditor

Most common role confusion occurs when a practitioner who is a Subject Matter Expert or Implementer claim approval rights by subverting the role of Stakeholder Agent. They present their parochial preferences as fait accompli with the force of approved architecture.

Good architects know that good architecture is not optimized for a single concern. Good architecture satisfies the set of Stakeholder preferences through active trade-off in the organization's context’s goals and strategy. Architecture development explicitly addresses Stakeholder Concerns showed through the development of Views.

Good architecture development balances the set of Stakeholder preferences through trade-off. A high fraction of the value of good architecture comes from the trade-off process where the potential value of the Target is tested against the impact and cost of change. When the approval role is artificially claimed, trade-off is short-circuited. Worse, they do all analysis through the lens of the Subject Matter Expert’s specialty, or implementation & operational challenges.

Usually Subject Matter Experts and Implementers confusing role think they are acting as an Architect, under the misapprehension that Architect’s own decisions. A classic sign of this role confusion is failing to provide an architecture (See Trap #16 Just the Diagram). Performing architecture governance readily catches role confusion when the pretender cannot identify the Stakeholders’ Concerns, provide crisp alignment with goals and strategy, or identify the trade-off performed.

The most dangerous expression of this trap is when the enterprise architect is seduced by their knowledge and experience gained through previous trade-off and implementation governance activity and act as a Stakeholder Agent. In theory, we always test with Stakeholders. We must routinely short-cut architecture development and engage with *Stakeholder Agents*.

When seduced, the struggling enterprise architect appropriates the Stakeholder’s exclusive decision-making rights. Given that *Architects* routinely need to act as Stakeholder Agents when short-cutting and performing tactical implementation governance, this trap sneaks up on the most careful practitioners. As they make more statements on behalf of Stakeholders, the *Architect* becomes more confident and identifies with the priorities of key Stakeholders.

The solution for this trap is effective governance of the architecture development process. Even informally stepping through the governance checklist will highlight to good practitioners when they have been seduced: when they cannot articulate a trade-off between competing preferences, when they cannot frame out a View for more than one *Stakeholder.

In the real-world, the Target is never perfectly aligned with a single goal, single objective, single Stakeholder preference, or Subject Matter Expert’s predisposition. Is it a compromise that provides the best fit against the set of goals, objectives, and Stakeholder preferences; all informed by Subject Matter Experts’ advice. We get this best fit by clearly knowing what role is in play.

Usually Subject Matter Experts and Implementers confusing role think they are acting as an enterprise architect, under the misapprehension that Architect’s own decisions. A classic sign of this role confusion is the failure to provide an architecture (See Trap #16 Just the Diagram). Performing architecture governance readily catches role confusion when the pretender cannot identify the Stakeholders’ Concerns, provide crisp alignment with goals and strategy, or identify the trade-off performed.

The solution for this trap is effective governance of the architecture development process. Even informally stepping through the governance checklist will highlight to good practitioners when they have been seduced: when they cannot articulate a trade-off between competing preferences, when they cannot frame out a View for more than one Stakeholder*.

If you are struggling with this, we suggest exploring a Stakeholder Workshop to identify who is playing what role, and clarify the distinction between advising and deciding.

Join the Personal Enterprise Architecture Kickstart

Free 12-week program to be a better enterprise architect

Scroll to Top