陷阱 #195 - 不关注对话

架构问题是评估可接受性的标准。 企业架构师 最高价值是帮助利益相关者确定改善其组织的最佳途径。然后为利益相关者提供治理工具以获得预期的改进。

崩溃和燃烧的故事

太多的 EA 团队功能低下。从字面上看,他们的指甲挂在上面。如果您看到这些做法,请停止!现在停止!

在你还可以的时候弹出。

企业架构墓地

学习要避免的故障模式

测试一个邪恶的问题

  • 在制定解决方案之前,我们不了解问题
  • 问题没有停止规则
  • 问题的解决方案没有对错之分
  • 问题和解决方案本质上是新颖独特的
  • 每个解决方案都是“一次性操作”
  • 我们无法比较给定的替代解决方案

做一个更好的建筑师

免费 90 天 Personal Enterprise Architect Kickstart 成为更好的架构师.
每周录制的网络研讨会,可下载

免费 EA 社区会员
免费培训、指导、工具和技术 Conexiam 咨询

从今天开始

陷阱 195 - 不听话 我们总是看到它。苦苦挣扎的企业架构师抱怨决策者改变了主意。再次。沮丧的,苦苦挣扎的企业架构师宣称他们将不得不重新开始。他们使用最新的临时想法进行返工。冲洗并重复。建立挫败感。

这个陷阱最糟糕的部分是企业架构师的重复。他们通常从试图确定优先级的初始错误开始。

企业架构 存在以帮助解决具有多个相互矛盾的目标的复杂问题。它的存在是为了为我们的利益相关者的邪恶问题找到解决方案。我们不需要企业架构来用直接的标准来回答问题。

我们苦苦挣扎的企业架构师通常通过假设他们的工作是提供答案来加剧他们的错误。没有什么比事实更离谱了。一个高效的企业架构师管理决策过程。简而言之,它们有助于利益相关者做出最佳决策。通常是最差的。

让我们花点时间解开这些错误——提供答案,并相信利益相关者改变了主意。

邪恶的问题解决 根本原因是对我们如何做出复杂决策的理解薄弱。我们喜欢假设决策有一个简单的线性关系。我们从一个问题开始,收集数据,进行分析,制定解决方案,然后得到答案。

这种方法可能适用于决定购买哪种牙刷。它在企业架构中没有位置。它在解决问题时没有位置 邪恶的问题.

企业架构师被要求处理棘手的问题。我们的方法基于利益相关者的关注,以消除相互矛盾的标准。我们用 架构视图 来描述架构。

我们如何才能确定目标架构是否充分一致、具有成本效益、低变更影响和敏捷?严重地。我的利益相关者想要 1) 与战略保持一致,2) 控制变更和运营成本,3) 尽量减少变更影响,以及 4) 保持对预期未来做出反应的能力.我希望他们只想要世界和平。

苦苦挣扎的企业架构师进来了。他们一直在努力,并提供了一个低成本的答案。在与利益相关者的对话中,敏捷性问题或一致性问题出现了,低成本的答案就消失了。沮丧的企业架构师发誓要从头开始。在努力寻找答案之后,他们会返回一个更加灵活的答案。

你知道会发生什么。在对话期间,利益相关者考虑变更影响。答案死了。苦苦挣扎的企业架构师站了出来,抱怨利益相关者再次改变了主意。

你知道他们会再次做同样的事情。这是可以预见的。你可以看到它从一英里外飞来。崩溃和燃烧。

这一切都是因为苦苦挣扎的企业架构师未能理解他们的工作。通常,导致崩溃的正是这些技能让苦苦挣扎的企业架构师得到了这份工作。规划和实施是在架构决策之后。

高功能和苦苦挣扎的企业架构师之间的对比令人眼花缭乱。

在我们的示例中,利益相关者希望 1) 与战略保持一致,2) 控制变更和运营成本,3) 尽量减少变更影响,以及 4) 保持对预期未来做出反应的能力。这些声明归结为四个问题。

  1. 结盟
  2. 变更成本/运营成本
  3. 改变影响
  4. 敏捷

功能强大的架构师知道他们无法针对单个问题进行优化。功能强大的架构师知道他们必须将混乱摆在利益相关者面前并促进权衡取舍。

挣扎的 建筑师 着手进行系统设计。根据他们的优先级测试系统。该优先级通常是具体且可衡量的,例如成本或更改时间。

高功能架构师着眼于系统并试图了解哪些因素会推动成本?哪些部分很难改变?发生了哪些类型的外部变化?系统对战略有什么缺陷?高功能架构师正在完成他们的工作并针对利益相关者的关注分析系统。

苦苦挣扎的架构师出现了针对单个标准优化的更改。通常是系统图。他们根据对标准的好处来解释新架构。在谈话中,他们崩溃和燃烧。它们使利益相关者不了解如何处理一组复杂的标准。

这就是企业架构存在的原因。帮助利益相关者在一系列相互矛盾的问题的背景下做出最佳决策。帮助利益相关者改变复杂的系统。帮助利益相关者管理变更以实现预期收益。

高功能架构师展示了一个可操作的模型,让利益相关者看到不同变化的影响。利益相关者开始了解变化。他们产生成本的地方。他们失去敏捷的地方。他们失去对齐的地方。变化影响从何而来。

功能强大的建筑师拥有 意见.至少,高功能架构师可以交互地解释不同变更选项的影响。实际上,充当模型。

企业架构师指南

下载 企业架构师指南 关于开发有用的企业架构的 TOGAF 系列指南。

当我与建筑师合作时,我们会在这个陷阱上花费大量时间。我询问利益相关者的担忧。我问这些担忧如何影响正在检查的系统。我问曲线在哪里交叉优化一个关注点会伤害另一个关注点。

我正在做的是 架构开发过程的有效治理.提出问题 治理清单:

  • 命名您的利益相关者
  • 告诉我他们的担忧
  • 根据关注点解释您的架构

我现身准备与苦苦挣扎的建筑师进行一场战斗。我会被告知有优先权!我被告知利益相关者希望得到答案!我总是坚持自己的立场。我知道好的企业架构。

我经常不得不向他们展示开发架构涉及利益相关者。优秀的企业架构师了解系统。他们知道改变对关键问题的影响,以及不改变的影响。我们必须通过痛苦的权衡来指导利益相关者。

几年前,我们每天与主要利益相关者开会。 EA 团队惊慌失措。我们做了一个令人讨厌的权衡,这让公司困扰了好几年。

我的新企业架构师团队惊慌失措。我的团队每天都在寻找出路。他们试图找到一个打败现实的选择。每天我们都带着相同的信息进入。每天我们都与利益相关者进行同样的对话。利益相关者每天都试图打败现实。我们得到了答案。它不漂亮。

一个棘手的问题没有一个很好的答案。

我从来没有犯过针对单一标准优化更改的错误。当我们查看第二个或第三个标准时,我的更改从未崩溃。正因为如此,我从来没有遇到过利益相关者改变主意的问题。

相反,我们帮助我们的利益相关者确定了改善其组织的最佳可用途径。他们了解他们选择的权衡和影响。他们可以管理以下变化。

企业架构方法,例如 TOGAF 很复杂是有原因的。它们帮助我们解决组织面临的最复杂问题:如何变得更好。

高效的企业架构师总是关注对话。通常是因为他们正在领导它。如果没有人为的答案,我们永远不会让利益相关者改变主意并选择新的标准。

滚动到顶部

Trap #195 - Not following the conversation

Architecture concerns are the criteria to assess acceptability. Enterprise architects' highest value is assisting stakeholders identify the best path to improving their organization. Then provide the governance tool for the stakeholder to gain the expected improvement.

Crash and burn stories

Too many EA teams are low functioning. Literally hanging on by their fingernails. If you see these practices, stop! Stop now!

Eject while you still can.

Enterprise Architecture Graveyard

Learn the failure patterns to avoid

Tests for a Wicked Problem

  • We do not understand the problem until after the formulation of a solution
  • The problem has no stopping rule
  • Solutions to the problem are not right or wrong
  • Problem and solutions are essentially novel and unique
  • Every solution is a 'one shot operation’
  • We cannot compare given alternative solutions

Be a better architect

Free 90-day Personal Enterprise Architect Kickstart to be a better architect.
Weekly recorded webinar, with downloads

Free EA Community Membership
Free training, guidance, tools and techniques from Conexiam Consulting

Start today

Trap 195 - not following the conversationWe see it all the time. The struggling enterprise architect complains that the decision-makers have changed their minds. Again. Frustrated, the struggling enterprise architect declares they will have to start all over. They rework using the latest transitory idea. Rinse and repeat. Build frustration.

The worst part of this trap is struggling enterprise architect's repetition. They usually start with the initial error of trying to identify the priority.

Enterprise architecture exists to help answer complex problems with multiple contradictory goals. It exists to find solutions to our stakeholder's wicked problems. We do not need enterprise architecture to answer questions with straight-forward criteria.

Our struggling enterprise architect usually compounds their error by assuming that their job is to provide an answer. Nothing can be further from the truth. A high-functioning enterprise architect manages the decision-making process. In short, they facilitate the stakeholder to make the best possible decision. Usually the least-worst.

Lets spend a minute and unpack these errors - providing an answer, and believing the stakeholder changed their minds.

Wicked Problem SolvingAt the root is a weak understanding of how we make complex decisions. We like to assume there is a simple linearity to decisions. We start with a problem, gather data, perform analysis, formulate a solution, and have the answer.

This approach might be true for deciding which toothbrush to purchase. It has no place in enterprise architecture. It has no place in addressing a Wicked Problem.

Enterprise architect's get asked to work on wicked problems. We base our method on stakeholder's concerns to drive out contradictory criteria. We use architecture views to describe the architecture.

How else can we determine if the target architecture is sufficiently aligned, cost-efficient, low-change-impact, and agile? Seriously. My stakeholder wants to 1) align to strategy, 2) control change and operating cost, 3) minimize change impact, and 4) keep the ability to react to an expected future. I wish they only wanted world-peace.

In comes the struggling enterprise architect. They have been working hard and have provided an answer that is low cost. In the conversation with the stakeholder the agility concern, or the alignment concern comes up and the low-cost answer dies. Out comes the frustrated enterprise architect vowing a need to start all-over. After working hard on an answer, they go back in with a far more agile answer.

You know what happens. During the conversation, the stakeholder considers change impact. The answer dies. The struggling enterprise architect stomps out, complaining that yet again the stakeholder changed their mind.

You know they are going to do the same thing again. It is so predictable. You can see it coming a mile off. Crash & burn.

All because the struggling enterprise architect failed to understand their job. Often the very skills that are causing the crash got the struggling enterprise architect the job. Planning and implementation are after architectural decision.

The contrast between a high-functioning and struggling enterprise architect is blinding.

In our example the stakeholder wants to 1) align to strategy, 2) control change and operating cost, 3) minimize change impact, and 4) keep the ability to react to an expected future. Those statements net down to four concerns.

  1. Alignment
  2. Cost of Change / Cost of Operations
  3. Change Impact
  4. Agility

High-functioning architects know they cannot optimize for a single concern. High functioning architects know they have to put the mess in-front of their stakeholder and facilitate trade-off.

The struggling architect embarks on a system design. Testing the system against their priority. That priority is usually something concrete and measurable, like cost or time-to-change.

The high-functioning architect looks at the system and seeks to understand what elements drive cost? Which parts are hard to change? What types of external change happen? What deficiency the system has against strategy? The high-functioning architect is doing their job and analyzing a system against the stakeholder's concerns.

The struggling architect shows up with a change optimized against a single criteria. Usually a system diagram. They explain the new architecture in terms of benefits to the criteria. In the conversation, they crash and burn. They leave the stakeholder uninformed about how to address a complex set of criteria.

Right here is why enterprise architecture exists. Help the stakeholder make the best decision in the context of a set of contradictory concerns. Help the stakeholder change a complex system. Help the stakeholder manage the change to achieve the expected benefit.

The high-functioning architect shows up with an exercisable model that lets the stakeholder see the impact of distinct changes. The stakeholder gets to understand the change. Where they incur cost. Where they lose agility. Where they lose alignment. Where change impact comes from.

The high-functioning architect has views. At a minimum, the high-functioning architect can interactively explain the impact of different change options. In effect, acting as the model.

Enterprise Architect's Guide

Download the Enterprise Architect's Guide a TOGAF Series Guide on developing useful enterprise architecture. test

When I work with architects, we spend a lot of time on this trap. I ask for stakeholder concerns. I ask how the concerns impact the system under examination. I ask where the curves cross-where optimizing one concerns harms another.

What I am doing is effective governance of the architecture development process. Asking the questions in the governance checklist:

  • name your stakeholder
  • tell me their concerns
  • explain your architecture in terms of concerns

I show-up prepared for a battle with the struggling architects. I will be told that there is a priority! I am told the stakeholder expects an answer! I always hold my ground. I know good enterprise architecture.

All too often I have to show them developing architecture involves the stakeholder. That good enterprise architects know the system. They know the impact of change on key concerns, and impact of not changing. That we have to guide the stakeholders through painful trade-off.

A couple of years ago we had a daily meeting with key stakeholders. The EA team were panicking. We had a nasty trade-off that had stumped the company for several years.

My team of new enterprise architects was panicking. Every day my team looked for a way out. They tried to find an option that defeated reality. Every day we went in with the same set of information. Every day we had the same conversation with the stakeholders. Every day the stakeholders tried to defeat reality. We got to an answer. It wasn't pretty.

No answer to a wicked problem is pretty.

I never made the mistake of showing-up with a change optimized against a single criterion. My change never fell apart when we looked at a second, or third criteria. Because of this I never had the problem of the stakeholder changing their mind.

Instead, we helped our stakeholders identify the best available path to improving their organization. They understood the trade-off and implication of their choice. They could govern the following change.

Enterprise architecture methods like TOGAF are complex for a reason. They help us address the most complex problem our organizations face: how to get better.

High-functioning enterprise architects always follow the conversation. Usually because they are leading it. Without an artificial answer, we never have the stakeholders changing their minds and picking a new criteria.

Scroll to Top