什么是企业架构审查委员会?

关于有效的企业架构审查委员会存在许多误解。它是一个管理机构,可确保正确的利益相关者做出明智的决定。架构审查委员会确保我们遵循最佳实践来开发企业架构,并在执行项目时遵循该架构。一个管理机构,而不是一个决策机构。

什么是企业架构审查委员会?

企业架构 通常涉及具有一系列活动部件和各种利益相关者的复杂系统。

清晰的路线图可以帮助您实现目标,使 企业敏捷性,推出新产品,加快您的 数字化转型.如果没有一个专门负责控制所有相关流程的管理机构,要让您的所有企业运营在您的公司或组织中保持一致是非常困难的。

那么,究竟什么是企业架构审查委员会?

关于有效的企业架构审查委员会存在许多误解。它是一个管理机构,确保遵循开发架构的最佳实践,并且利益相关者批准了目标。它还确保遵循审查变更项目的最佳实践,并确保在不遵循架构时相同的利益相关者做出选择。一个管理机构,而不是一个决策机构。

常见的错误是假设架构审查委员会做出决定。在这个错误中,人们寻找整个企业的关键利益相关者。错误地认为它将确保计划与企业的总体目标和战略同步。或者,董事会将专注于保持对开发标准和行业最佳实践的遵守。虽然成功

我们认为企业架构审查委员会是一种高级治理战略,它更加强调系统、流程和开发的“大局”。

治理经常与管理和决策周期相混淆。它是关于方向和控制的——领导者提供什么方向,以及确保遵循方向的控制是什么。

为什么要有架构审查委员会?

建立企业架构审查委员会和架构审查委员会章程会给您的组织带来许多优势和好处。以下是一些大的:

更好的决策

拥有架构审查委员会意味着改善组织几乎每个级别的决策。通过遵守明确的标准、协议和指南,并以整体方式评估企业架构,审查委员会确保他们做出的决策是知情的、战略性的和透明的。

拥有一个清晰的决策过程可以帮助组织中的每个人了解正在做出哪些决定以及为什么要做出这些决定,从而使他们受益。这个过程有助于保持所有支柱和部门的组织重点。

在每个步骤中加入您的架构图,而不是依赖于令人麻木的数据表,以便您可以更轻松地在团队之间交流架构。

改进投资策略和预算管理

对于团队来说,架构可能很复杂,很难清楚地了解其他人如何使用系统和流程。模糊的范围监督和混乱往往会导致各种错位、冗余和沟通不畅,最终由于这些低效率而导致大量不必要的资本损失。

架构审查委员会通过创建标准化流程和监督“大局”来处理这些问题。通过对架构的深刻理解,审查委员会可以管理并做出明智的决策,最终将节省时间、金钱和资源。

简化流程

企业架构涉及很多活动部分,最大的障碍之一就是把你的头包在所有东西上。通过建立架构审查委员会,您可以让委员会划分许多这些活动部分,并将它们组织成易于管理、易于消化的信息位,无需阅读冗长、干燥文档中的细则即可理解。

当部门和团队规划他们的架构开发过程时,这会更好。这使审查委员会能够更好地了解解决方案和系统,因此他们可以轻松更新其标准化流程。

改进的风险管理

架构审查委员会通常会审查所有提议的计划和大型项目。这使他们能够评估计划并查看它们如何叠加并与组织的指导原则保持一致,并将计划置于更大的架构愿景中。

由于他们在主要目标列表中具有全局利益,因此他们可以看到该解决方案的潜在陷阱、风险和障碍,并将流程落实到位或提出各种建议来缓解这些问题。

更强的安全合规性

安全合规性是企业最关心的问题之一,您可能并不感到意外。审查委员会负责绘制架构图,阐明最佳实践和政策,并确定这些政策实施中的差距,以便所有解决方案相互协调并保持同步。

我们使用 SABSA 风险模型, SABSA 业务属性, 和 SABSA 领域模型 支持安全合规性和 安全架构治理.我们的 SABSA 领域模型网络研讨会 向您展示如何使用企业架构审查委员会的最佳实践来改进架构治理。

企业架构审查委员会架构

构建架构审查委员会的首选指南是行业标准的企业架构框架, TOGAF®.开放组制定了 TOGAF 框架 必不可少的脚手架和指南,使其喜欢。 TOGAF 图书馆 企业架构治理指南 这本质上是设计、规划、实施和管理企业架构的高级方法指南。

审查委员会是 TOGAF 管理过程的重要组成部分。正如你 发展您的企业架构团队,您应该开发您的企业架构审查委员会。从 TOGAF 标准中已经为您概述的最佳实践开始 企业架构治理指南.这将有助于您的方法。

当然,您的架构审查委员会的结构应该基于您组织的需求。

密切关注您组织的规模和当前流程。例如,您可能需要创建两个独立的治理机构,它们对全球治理和地方治理都是独一无二的。

通常,企业架构审查委员会的最佳规模约为 4-5 名成员。永远不要超过10.我们应该让有足够判断力的人组成董事会,以评估目标架构和遵从性评估 企业架构治理清单.寻找思维方式、背景和经验的多样性。他们需要了解谁拥有决策权,并能够评估决策者是否了解风险、收益和变化。我们经常使用 SABSA 领域框架 测试代表的质量。

企业架构治理清单

架构审查委员会承担着广泛的治理职责。下面是一个供您实施的清单,这样您就可以确保您达到目标。

目标企业架构治理清单

  1. 是否确定了正确的利益相关者? 是/否
    o 如果是,继续
    o 如果没有,请直接派架构师与适合正在开发的架构的利益相关者进行接触
  2. 是否考虑了来自高级架构的约束和指导? 是/否
    o 如果是,继续
    o 如果没有,要么执行架构治理变更、救济和执行,要么指导架构师考虑来自上级架构的指导和约束
  3. 主题专家是否同意架构中的事实和对事实的解释? 是/否
    o 如果是,继续
    o 如果没有,要么指导架构师与主题专家接触,要么为 利益相关者认为他们应该有信心限制
  4. 产生的任何约束或指导是否反映了为利益相关者和任何 支撑架构模型和分析? 是/否
    o 如果是,继续
    o 如果没有,请指导建筑师完成他们的工作
  5. 为利益相关者生成的视图是否反映了他们的担忧并反映了任何基础架构模型和分析?是/否
    o 如果是,请提交利益相关者批准
    o 如果没有,请指导架构师开发 意见
  6. 利益相关者是否了解价值,以及通过达到目标状态提供的实现价值的任何不确定性? 是/否
    o 如果是,继续
    o 如果没有,请指导架构师开发视图并返回给利益相关者
  7. 利益相关者是否了解达到目标状态所需的工作以及成功完成工作的任何不确定性? 是/否
    o 如果是,继续
    o 如果没有,请指导架构师开发视图并返回给利益相关者
  8. 利益相关者是否了解他们对目标架构的信心限制? 是/否
    o 如果是,继续
    o 如果没有,请指导架构师开发视图并返回给利益相关者
  9. 利益相关者是否批准了意见?是/否
    o 如果是,将企业架构存储库中的企业架构发布为批准的目标架构。
    o 如果没有,企业架构委员会应决定要么指示架构师重新设计架构,要么取消架构计划

在关闭...

企业架构概述了改进组织以克服其执行缺陷的途径。通过架构审查委员会,敏捷性不足、需要扩展到新市场或正在进行数字化转型过程的公司都可以从整个过程中的治理中受益。

康乃馨,我们是一家精品店,在美国、加拿大、非洲和中东的多个垂直行业拥有丰富的经验。 Conexiam 建立了可预测地开发架构的良好实践。

了解架构参与的目的以及他们需要什么信息,使 Conexiam 能够定制架构可交付成果。 Conexiam 开发了一种 可预测的 EA 使用已知可交付成果和工作产品的固定时间段的方法。

企业架构审查委员会自己动手做指南

建立企业架构审查委员会的最佳实践指南

构建高效企业架构团队的自上而下指南

免费的 12 周企业架构培训。帮助架构审查委员会。

学习使用 SABSA 域模型改进架构审查委员会对利益相关者的使用和风险

成功的企业架构审查委员会的例子

成功的企业架构审查委员会拥有更好的企业架构!

拥有更好企业架构的组织更有效地应对变革。更有效地实现他们的目标。它们更有效。

看看我们的案例研究。

滚动到顶部

What is an Enterprise Architecture Review Board?

There are many misconceptions about effective enterprise architecture review boards. It is a governing body that ensures the right stakeholders make informed decisions. The architecture review board ensures we follow best practices to develop an enterprise architecture, and when executing projects following that architecture. A governing body, not a decision-making body.

What is an Enterprise Architecture Review Board?

Enterprise Architecture often involves complex systems with an array of moving parts and various stakeholders.

A crystal clear roadmap can help you reach your goals, enable enterprise agility, launch new products, speed your digital transformation. Without a governing body that’s dedicated to taking ownership of all the processes involved, it’s pretty tough to keep all of your enterprise operations aligned across your company or organization.

So, What Is an Enterprise Architecture Review Board, Exactly?

There are many misconceptions about effective enterprise architecture review boards. It is a governing body that ensures the best practices to develop an architecture were followed and the stakeholders approved the target. It also ensures that best practices to review change projects were followed and the same stakeholders made choices when the architecture wasn't followed. A governing body, not a decision-making body.

The common error is to assume the architecture review board makes decisions. In this error, people look for key stakeholders across an enterprise. The mistakingly assume it will ensure initiatives are in sync with the enterprise’s overarching objectives and strategies. Or, that the board will focus on maintaining compliance with development standards and industry-best practices. While a successful

We consider enterprise architectural review board a high-level governance strategy that puts more emphasis on the “big picture” of systems, processes, and development.

Governance is often confused with management and decision cycles. It is about direction & control – what direction does a leader provide and what are the controls that ensure the direction is followed.

Why Have an Architecture Review Board?

Establishing an enterprise architecture review board and an architecture review board charter comes with a host of advantages and benefits to your organization. Here are a few of the big ones:

Better Decision-making

Having an architecture review board means improved decision-making on virtually every level of your organization. By adhering to clear standards, protocols and guidelines, and evaluating enterprise architecture in a holistic manner, a review board makes sure that the decisions they make are well-informed, strategic, and transparent.

Having a clear-cut decision-making process benefits everyone in your organization by helping them understand what decisions are being made and why they’re being made. This process helps maintain organizational focus across all pillars and departments.

Incorporate your architecture diagram at each step of the way, rather than relying on mind-numbing sheets of data so you can communicate the architecture more easily across your teams.

Improved Investment Strategies and Budget Management

Architectures can be complex and difficult for teams to have a clear image of how others are using the systems and processes. Hazy scope oversight and confusion often lead to various misalignments, redundancies, and miscommunication, which ultimately results in a lot of unnecessary capital lost because of these inefficiencies.

Architecture review boards take care of these issues by creating standardized processes and overseeing the “big picture.” By having a keen understanding of the architecture, review boards then manage and make well-informed decisions that will ultimately save time, money and resources.

Simplified Processes

There are a lot of moving parts involved with enterprise architecture, and one of the biggest hurdles is wrapping your head around everything. By having an architecture review board, you’re letting the board compartmentalize a lot of these moving parts, and organizing them into manageable, easily digestible bits of information that can be understood without reading the fine print in a long, dry document.

This works even better when departments and teams map out their architecture development process. This allows the review board even better visibility of the solutions and systems, so they can update their standardized processes easily.

Improved Risk Management

An architecture review board typically reviews all proposed initiatives and large-scale projects. This allows them to evaluate plans and see how they stack up and align with the organization’s guiding set of principles, and contextualize the initiatives within the larger architectural vision.

Since they have the big-picture interests in their main objective list, they can see potential pitfalls, risks, and obstacles to that solution, and put processes in places or make various recommendations how to mitigate those issues.

Stronger Security Compliance

It’s probably no surprise to you that security compliance is one of the top concerns for enterprises. It’s the responsive of the review boards to map the architecture, clarifying best practices and policies, and identify gaps in those policies’ implementation, so that all the solutions align each other and are in sync.

We use the SABSA Risk Model, SABSA Business Attributes, and the SABSA Domain Model to support security compliance and security architecture governance. Our SABSA Domain Model webinar shows you how to improve architecture governance with best practices for an enterprise architecture review board.

Enterprise Architecture Review Board Structuring

The go-to guide for structuring your architecture review board is the industry standard enterprise architecture framework, TOGAF®. The Open Group made the TOGAF Framework up of essential scaffolding and guides that bring it to like. The TOGAF Library's Enterprise Architecture Governance Guide This is essentially a high-level method guide for designing, planning, implementing, and governing enterprise architectures.

Review boards are a vital part of the governing process within TOGAF. As you develop your enterprise architecture team, you should develop your enterprise architecture review board. Start with the best-practices already outlined for you in the TOGAF Standard's Enterprise Architecture Governance Guide. This will help you in your approach.

Of course, how your architecture review board is structured should be based on the needs of your organization.

Pay close attention to your organization’s size and current processes. For example, you might need to create two separate governing bodies that are unique to both global and local governance.

Typically, the optimum size of an enterprise architecture review board is about 4-5 members. Never to exceed 10. We should make the board up of people with sufficient judgement to assess the target architecture and compliance assessments following the enterprise architecture governance checklists. Look for a nice range of diversity in mindset, background, and experience. They will need to understand who has decision-making authority and be able to assess whether the decision makers understand risk, benefit and change. We often use the SABSA Domain Framework to test the quality of representation.

Enterprise Architecture Governance Checklist

The architecture review board holds a wide range of governance responsibilities. Below is a checklist for you to implement so you can make sure you’re on target.

Target Enterprise Architecture Governance Checklist

  1. Were the correct stakeholders identified? Yes/No
    o If yes, proceed
    o If not, send direct the architect to engage with the stakeholders appropriate to the architecture being developed
  2. Were constraints and guidance from superior architecture considered? Yes/No
    o If yes, proceed
    o If not, either exercise Architecture Governance change, relief and enforcement, or direct the architect to consider guidance and constraints from superior architecture
  3. Do subject matter experts agree with the facts and interpretation of the facts in the architecture? Yes/No
    o If yes, proceed
    o If not, either direct the architect to engage with the subject matter experts or develop a recommendation for the Stakeholders that they should have limitations in confidence
  4. Do any constraints or guidance produced reflect the Views produced for stakeholders and any underpinning architecture models and analysis? Yes/No
    o If yes, proceed
    o If not, direct the architect to do their job
  5. Do the Views produced for the Stakeholders reflect their Concerns and reflect any underpinning architecture models and analysis? Yes/No
    o If yes, proceed to the Stakeholders for approval
    o If not, direct the architect to develop Views
  6. Do the Stakeholders understand the Value, and any uncertainty in achieving the Value, provided by reaching the target state? Yes/No
    o If yes, proceed
    o If not, direct the architect to develop Views and return to the Stakeholders
  7. Do the Stakeholders understand the work necessary to reach the target state and any uncertainty in successfully accomplishing the work? Yes/No
    o If yes, proceed
    o If not, direct the architect to develop Views and return to the Stakeholders
  8. Do the Stakeholders understand any limitations in confidence they should have in the target architecture? Yes/No
    o If yes, proceed
    o If not, direct the architect to develop Views and return to the Stakeholders
  9. Has the Stakeholders approved the Views? Yes/No
    o If yes, publish the enterprise architecture in the enterprise architecture repository as approved target architecture.
    o If not, the Enterprise Architecture Board should decide either to direct the architect to re-work the architecture or cancel the architecture initiative

In Closing...

An enterprise architecture outlines the path to improve an organization to overcome shortfalls in its execution. With an architecture review board, companies that are insufficiently agile, or need to expand to a new market, or are making a digital transformation process – all benefit from governance throughout the processes.

At Conexiam, we’re a boutique shop with experience in multiple industry verticals across the US, Canada, Africa and the Middle East. Conexiam has established a sound practice of developing architecture predictably.

Understanding the purpose of the architecture engagement, and what information they require, allows Conexiam to tailor the architecture deliverables. Conexiam has developed a Predictable EA approach using fixed periods of time with known deliverables and work product.

Do it Yourself Guidance on an Enterprise Architecture Review Board

Best practice guidance on establishing an Enterprise Architecture Review Board

Top-to-bottom guidance for building an effective enterprise architecture team

Free 12-week Enterprise Architecture Training. Help the Architecture Review Board.

Learn to improve your architecture review board's use of stakeholders and risk with the SABSA domain model

Examples of Successful Enterprise Architecture Review Boards

Successful Enterprise Architecture Review Boards have better Enterprise Architecture!

Organizations with better enterprise architecture are more effective with change. More effective in reaching their objectives. They are more effective.

Have a look at our case studies.

Scroll to Top